BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, i'm new to the Board, but been following for years. I used to have an E39 M5, and now I have a 2011 M3 coupe 6-speed. I love it, and the whole 'softer' M3 vs. the E46 M3 thing goes away after about a day or two. It's incredible!
Anyways, in light of the new M5 coming out, I thought I'd share something I wrote for some friends regarding why leases can be much smarter than buying. (I'm a tax attorney with a finance/accounting degree, so excuse any technicalities.) Leases get a bad rap, and with these cars, i think they are superior in many cases (I learned the hard way by purchasing my E39 used and paying repair bills / depreciation)
---
First off, leases do NOT make sense for most people. The majority of people should buy, not lease, since most people (a) want a Japanese-made commuter to hold onto for 10 years & make cheap repairs, (b) don’t drive high end cars that have high repairs after a warranty runs out, or (c) won’t use all of the lease miles. These people should keep buying cars every 10-15 years.
HOWEVER, Leasing makes a WHOLE lot more sense than buying IF you like expensive and/or high-repair cars, drive a lot of miles, like to get into different cars every 2/3 years, and don't have cash to buy outright (to avoid the interest).
Here's why in order of most importance: