BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
All right folks, I finally hit 60K miles and summoned up my wits to tackle replacing the fuel filter. Wasn't as bad as I thought it would be.

Disclaimer: I am not a certified mechanic. I did this on my own, and the info below is to be used only as a reference. I am not responsible for any issues you may have.

Time: 1.5 hours. It can be done in less time, but this was my first trial at it.

Difficulty: On a scale of 1-10, 10 being the most difficult, I would say this is about a 5. The tricky and most time consuming parts where a) removing the collar nut/ring from the fuel filter lid and b) removing the fuel connecters to the filter itself.

Parts needed: OEM BMW Fuel filter, part #16142283196 (It includes the rubber o-ring).
you can see the part description here: RealOEM.com Online BMW Parts Catalog
I bought the part from getBMWparts.com

Tools: Some small wrenches. I also bought a special tool to remove the collar nut/ring. It made things SO MUCH EASIER to remove it.

You can buy it here: Mac Tools Online Store - Fuel Pump Removal Tool

**Also bring some rags, sponges, and/or plastic bags/containers so when you unplug the fuel lines, you have somewhere it can drain into.

-------------------------------

1) When you do this, make sure your car is less than 1/4 tank. Id say do it when you have less than 40 miles left of fuel range.

2) Do this outside or in a well ventilated area. NO SMOKING OR ANYTHING FLAMMABLE NEAR BY

3) In order to maximize the working space in the rear area, I put forward both front seats, as far forward as they would go.

4) I then removed the back seat. It is real simple. Just reach down, tuck your hands under the rear seat, one hand on each side, and pull straight up until you hear an audible pop. Then just pull up and out and remove the seat.