BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, here I am at the Chevron down Polhemus road off of 92, where I see a Black E55 AMG. He knew my car from the sound (Jet Black, no nadges) and we immediately walk to talk. I asked him if he wanted to race and he just smiled, told me that another friend of his has an ///M5 and that he has lost everytime he's tried against the M5. But hey, im not a pro, and it should be fun. Take it up, and KABAM. Jeezus. to see the two fastest production sedans of the same color racing side by side on a 2 lane freeway (at least whenver possible) must've sacred the **** out of anyone else out there.

Hey, it was fun. And I can understand why people would buy it, but it doesn't suit my lifestyle and I'm not some punter who's too lazy to change my own gears. :)

--Dan

·
Registered
3,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, it wasn't too competitive. We were on a mildly crowded 2 lane freeway, so we just paced back and forth, but when we stopped, even he acknowledged that in the short bursts we had, the E55 just couldn't keep up. Hey, it's putting out 349 hp, and im sure it's not 3/4 of the weight, so the power-weight ratio of the M5 is better.

Good to know that there are sensibile E55 owners who know when to bow down! :)

--Dan

·
Moderator Emeritus
10,698 Posts
I hear Merc is coming out with a 450hp engine for the new models out in 1-2 years.................
its all good!

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
According to the press, your 'basic' next-generation V8 Infiniti Q45 and Acura RL replacements are going to be 340HP.

There appear to be a bunch of 400-450HP models in the planning stages from the Germans.

Wheeeeee!!!

·
Registered
306 Posts
The M5 certainly has the better power to weight ratio, although the E55 definitely has more torque. It's interesting comparing these two to the 996TT though..

E55:
3620 lb/349 bhp = 10.37 lb/bhp
3620 lb/391 lb-ft = 9.26

M5: