BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
BmwNut said:
Ok, ok, I know it is in a videogame but I just picked up my E60 in GT4 and had to try out the photo mode. Enjoy!
:cheers:
Looks like fun!

OK, here's a dumb question. I've never owned a PS2 or XBox and yes I'm over 40. I'm thinking of buying one just for GT4. What do I need to buy? I assume I can plug if right into my 60 inch LCD Sony but do you use any special controller for steering beyond what comes with the PS2? I'm a pilot and have used sophisticated trainers with rudder inputs, yokes and the like. Just wondering if there's a more realistic "steering wheel" option when using a PS2.

Lastly, is GT4 only a PS2 game? Is there anything like it using just your PC or is PC gaming far behind the specialized boxes.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,564 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So far Mark GT4 is only on PS2. If you buy a new slimline PS2 they can operate HD (or so I am told), and so can GT4. You can play with the normal controller that is supplied with the PS2 no problem, but Logitec makes a steering wheel for it that is to die for. Check the GT4 thread in the OT section for more info on what I think of the wheel.
The wheel does a pretty good job, but it is akin to a Level 5 Frasca sim compared to a real airplane. Close, fun, but the control feel just isnt quite right, but good enough for government work. I still highly recomend it. 900 degrees of rotation is great too for drifting.
I cant think of anything out on computer that is like GT4. Maybe someone else can chime in with more info.

·
Registered
434 Posts
BmwNut said:
So far Mark GT4 is only on PS2. If you buy a new slimline PS2 they can operate HD (or so I am told), and so can GT4. You can play with the normal controller that is supplied with the PS2 no problem, but Logitec makes a steering wheel for it that is to die for. Check the GT4 thread in the OT section for more info on what I think of the wheel.