BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, I am new to this board, I live in the deep country in Texas and have no one I can trust to work on my M5 that is not more than 3 hours away. I was a technician many years ago, I am now retired from that field with the exception of me working on my cars.

I have an E60 M5 that ran like a champ, I also had actuators (idle and throttle) along with other items, like underdrive pulley, fuel pump, t-stat in stock so if something went wrong I would have it all covered, so I thought.

The vehicle turned off on me as I was driving it home and never restarted again. i got it home and started diagnosing why it shut off, I have INPA but in German and I do not know German. one of the codes that came up was for crank sensor. I replaced the sensor and it still would not start, I then tried to find out further why it would not start and have come up empty handed, now I forgot to mention I live in the country and found MANY mice in the car about 12 or more and I have exterminated them. I wonder if they chewed on a wire, but I do not see any problems with wiring, (i could have missed it) I replaced all the items mentioned I had in case something happened and nothing. VH did turn on once and sounded real bad, no rod knocks or anything like that. It has been a few months I have had it sitting in my property and would like to know if someone could help me find out what is wrong with the VH so I can start enjoying it again.

any input will be appreciated.
Thank you

these are the codes I get, sorry it's not too clear
Computer Personal computer Font Gadget Technology

·
Registered
1,924 Posts
Does the engine turn? Is the starter working while you try to start the car?

Reactions: sunilshivaram

·
Administrator
3,408 Posts
Based on your story I'd triple check the engine harness.