BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I just awoke from a glorious dream: I had added a second E39 to my stable and had spent all day and night driving them around. My current M5 was in the dream ('02 Carbon Black), but also apparently somewhere I had bought/found a Sakhir Orange E39!

I have no experience repainting cars and I have no idea how doing such a thing would affect resale value.

To all of you that have ever repainted your E39s, am I insane to repaint carbon black to Sakhir Orange? Is this even possible? If so, how do I go about doing it, and how much would it cost, approximately?

(As an aside, they say it's good to keep a dream journal, here's mine!)

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
Hi,

It's very possible to do a colour change respray on any car. There's been a few threads right here in the E39 M5 section about it quite recently too as other owners have done this too!

A full, excellent job, colour change respray will cost I'd imagine anywhere $6000+ and into that you'll need to add the cost of any replacement trim parts that will most likely break when preparing the car. It will absolutely affect resale value downwards, as most buyers of these cars only 'want' 100% oem cars.

Do some more evaluations and I say go for it !

Cheers, Dennis!

·
Registered
1,136 Posts