BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Newbie here with a 99 Avus M5. Have a bit of an issue with the audio system, basically its crackling like as if it was out of radio reception but i can hear music if i turn it up really loud. I thought it was an aerial issue at first but its the same with CD's too so im a bit stumped.

I have done a bit of searching and it looks like i have the BW24 dry solder issue but im just checking first to see if anyone else has had similar problems and if you reckon it is indeed the boot module thats the problem - I thought all sound would be lost if it was the problem.

May also be worth noting the car sat for a while but the battery is fully charged now. I have the headlamps out of it at the moment so cant do the reset procedure another member mentioned.

Thanks
Ben

·
Registered
12,398 Posts
But seriously...

Do you get ANY sound from the speakers? Nvigation commands, PDC? (I guess not on your model)

When two sources exhibit no sound I think "main amp". But you definitely want to be sure before buying. By "boot module' you mean the electronic stuff in the boot (trunk to us yanks)... not the module of software that boots the whats its... :)

Do you have a friend that you can swap with to test if it is the amp? (The amp is 2-3 plugs to remove, not hard)

A

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey, yeah i can still hear the sound its just crackling like mad. You can still tell which song is on but you have to turn it up really loud and it sounds terrible. From what i have read it appears that if the trunk module is gone that their is no sound at all?? The radio functions as normal - i can search for stations and they are all at the right frequencies and the changer is working too.

I dont have anyone too near to swap bits out with but i could probably organise it if i had to.