BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys,

I am new to e39 m5. One of thing that i have noticed is this car is really bad with brakes. I just dont feel enough power to stop a 4K pound monster quickly enough. Maybe it's my brake pads, brake fluid looked pretty clean.

Anyways, searching for brembos and stoptechs, i came across this on ecs tuning.

ECS News BMW E39 5-Series Front Big Brake Kit - 000249ECS01KT - ECS 6-Piston Front Big Brake Kit (338x26) - ES#2598719

Any reason why this will not fit an e39 m5. What is different? Do i need different brackets or what? Price looks very good and they are 6 piston calipers too so i think they are brembos underneath the skin. Anyone know the differences in M brake system vs 540?

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
You can get bmw performance kit but it does require custom adapter. Someone on here did a document. You will want to do a search.

·
Registered
2,976 Posts
Also, you may want to read up on this kit. While it seems to resist fade better than the OEM brakes, it does not seem to have better initial bite. So you need to decide what you want out of your brakes.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ok i understand now. So since we have one big piston, power is concentrated vs 6 pistons where power is distributed hence less fade.

how do you guys feel about the OEM set up? Is that sufficient for you guys? I am not trying to race or anything but once in a while, i like to push this car and stop quickly. What pads should i try with this car? any rotor/brake pad combination that people really like?

·
Registered
816 Posts