BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Living in the Los Angeles area, valet parking is a fact of life most of us have to deal with. In fact, I made a living parking cars when I was a college student at UCLA. Couple the valet parking prevalence in Los Angeles, with one of the highest concentrations of high performance, luxury cars in the world, and problems are bound to happen.

I have been driving the M5 for a couple of months, and was nervous about leaving the car with the Valet, not because I am afraid they will drive it in a "spirited manner" (I used to :7:), but rather that they wouldn't understand the SMG. After the first few times, I stopped explaining it, and let it go. I figured that they have dealt with other M5s, F cars with paddles, and so forth.

Last night, the valet pulls up the car, opens the door, gets out and waits for me to get in. I'm saying my farewells to friends, and as I walk towards the car, I realize it is rolling forward and I jump in and pull the brake handle. The M was about to get to know a Toyota Prius in front of it really well. 2 inches to spare.

So, do you explain the SMG to the Valet person, bail on the valet and self-park, or ASSume they know?

·
Registered
4,918 Posts
Living in the Los Angeles area, valet parking is a fact of life most of us have to deal with. In fact, I made a living parking cars when I was a college student at UCLA. Couple the valet parking prevalence in Los Angeles, with one of the highest concentrations of high performance, luxury cars in the world, and problems are bound to happen.