BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a real estate agent and can write off 75% of my car lease payments. So, if i'm looking at used 03's with 15-25K miles and can get a good lease payment does it make sense to lease?

Or is this just a wacky idea? Thanks.

·
Registered
842 Posts
greer said:
I'm a real estate agent and can write off 75% of my car lease payments. So, if i'm looking at used 03's with 15-25K miles and can get a good lease payment does it make sense to lease?

Or is this just a wacky idea? Thanks.
Dear Greer:

It's not a wacky idea. In certain situations it does make sense. Having said that I'll also say that in most cases it is usually better to buy a used car than to lease one.

You might start by looking at websites that put together the people who want to get out of leases with people who want to get into leases. If, however, you find a great car that you really like that is slightly used then it can work to your advantage that that someone else has already taken the initial depreciation hit on it. You just have to be careful in negotiating the lease deal.

Make sure you understand exactly how leases work and then make sure you get all the different details of the proposed lease. What is the money factor (interest X 24) what is the residual (value of vehicle at end of lease) capitalized cost (the amount the leasing company should be buying the car for) what is the MSRP for the exact car you're looking at - this is part of the leasing equation, too. How many miles a year are you going to drive 10,000? 15,000? and how many months should you lease the car for 24? 36? 39? 48?

Armed with this knowledge then go and talk to several independent leasing companies. If you can compare a CPO car with factory lease. If available this may be the best option for you as they come with warranties. Good luck.

Derek

·
10,455 Posts