BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My car has about 150K miles on it and I've been battling a problem for almost 2 years. The car runs rough on a cold start and then runs better but is still a little "off"....the power has been the same. Because the car is so old I've replaced the mafs, all the O2 sensors, spark plugs, coils, vanos, fuel pump and relay....just about everything you can think of.

So recently they realized that I might not have the latest "base" BMW software beneath my Dinan software (I have the Dinan CAI/exhaust, MAFs/housings).

They do this and tell me the car is running like a dream....I'm thinking....yeah right!

I get the car back....and it is.

For a couple of days.

Then I get a mild misfire in one of the cylinders (8 I believe). I turn the car off and back on....SES light goes off and its not misfiring....but its back to running not so great.

The shops says they got the code for a bad DME...but only one time and they aren't sure thats' the problem.

I give the car back....they fix replace the fuel relay....again (was done within a year) and give it back to me.

Same problems all over again.

I'm about the bring the car back in....(haven't checked the codes myself). But we are kind of down to the DME and the alternator (which tests fine in the shop but is original) as the only things that haven't been replaced.

I'm thinking that if updated software makes the car run like a dream....then suddenly it goes back to running poorly...

Its gotta be some glitch in the DME/memory for the software right?

Has anyone else been through this nightmare? I guess a bad DME could throw all kinds of codes?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm close to telling the shop to replace the computer period...code or not.

Thanks!

·
Registered
6,014 Posts
I highly doubt that the computer is the problem.

·
Registered
9,980 Posts