BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

It gives me great pleasure to join this board as a new owner of a magnificent 2006 M5. Now that I have had a few months to get used to her, I can honestly say that I am still absolutely LOVE this car!!! :M5thumbs: Every time I drive her, it puts me in a happy place.

Of course, she is not without her quirks. I have seen on the Dinan website that they are having a software sale.

I tried to search the forum to see if this has been discussed before, but I am a forums newbie so my apologies in advance...

Does the Dinan Stage 1 software smooth out the 1st to 2nd gear shifting that seems to plague this generation of SMG?

The sale ends in March and I was thinking of having it installed.

Many thanks in advance!

·
Banned
194 Posts
the reason you cannot find anything on this board might be because there are other tuners with better tunes at half the price of dinan

·
Registered
105 Posts
the reason you cannot find anything on this board might be because there are other tuners with better tunes at half the price of dinan
There are $400 tunes out there? I'm not trying to be a smart ***, I've just been looking for a tune too and haven't found anything less than $800 yet, please share.

·
Banned
194 Posts

·
Registered
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks everyone for your replies. Since my M5 is now out of warranty, I think I will give the Dinan software a try. I might be the first guy foolish enough to pay $800 for what should cost $400, but I'll have some peace of mind in that my local BMW dealership will install the software for me, so I can at least try to plead my case with them if something doesn't quite work out.

I've also heard that Dinan only charges the difference between stages when upgrading from 1 to 2 on most of their components. Is this true?

·
Registered
1,049 Posts