BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what kind of headlights

I'm a noob so please bare with me. I just bought a 2000 m5 and I was wondering what kind of headlights do I have. I need to know if there Xenon or Halogens? How can I tell? I want to buy angel eyes and don't what kind to buy.

·
Registered
1,093 Posts
Re: what kind of headlights

As far as I know and have read, all e39 M5's came with Xenon as standard. ;)

A simple solution is to watch as you switch the headlights on, they will take a few seconds to gain full brightness as well as being much whiter than standard bulb headlights.

Hope this helps. :M5thumbs:

C.

·
Registered
1,069 Posts

cableguy said:
A simple solution is to watch as you switch the headlights on, they will take a few seconds to gain full brightness as well as being much whiter than standard bulb headlights. Hope this helps. :M5thumbs:
C.
An even more simple solution is to open your hood and look. If you have Xenon lights you will notice the back of the light housing is different from halogen lights and the cables that power the bulbs are different, to include a warning label about the voltage they carry.
Yes, all M5 came standard with Xenon but to confuse us in Europe, BMW used the same lenses for both halogen and Xenon on some cars so anyone looking at them from the front could not differentiate the real source of illumination when the lights are off.
Ken

·
Registered
143 Posts

Welcome JAFO, I just purchased a 2000M5 and the 1st mod was to do an angel eye swap with the 6000k bulbs so I can help you with that process. I posted pics of the new lights under the heading "what do ya'll think?" I bought the kit from matt at Unmitza. The instructions suck to say the least but I got alot of help from board member Tin and directly from matt(unmitza) on the cell. I just did this 2-3 weeks ago so if you hurry I can help. My cell is 843-200-4282 and office is 843-851-0104. Jonny

·