BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
ok so I began driving in P400, EDC comfort, and D2 and I'm getting about 15.5 mpg on average. 100% city driving with a lot of stop and go.

now what can I do to improve mpg?

(yes, I know this car is not about fuel efficiency but sometimes I just want to drive without having to worry about refueling every week)

EDIT: I'm talking about the mpg displayed on the tachometer not idrive. I noticed that idrive sometimes give 29~30 mpg so I don't believe it...

·
Registered
35 Posts
as far as i can tell, thats normal (According to mine which ive had a week!)

I dont think theres anything you can do apart from fitting a honda motor.

·
Registered
983 Posts
15-16 mpg sounds pretty good to me, for 100% CITY driving. I'm still new to the car, so I'm sure I get on it more than I should, but I get around 11mpg consistently.

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
15-16 mpg sounds pretty good to me, for 100% CITY driving. I'm still new to the car, so I'm sure I get on it more than I should, but I get around 11mpg consistently.
I'm at 12.5 with some spirited highway driving and a little city driving. Summer gas blend should bump that by 1 mpg, and driving more normally another 1 mpg so if I could be around 15 I'd be happy. My mileage now is just abysmal.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Your lucky!! My car is stock and I'm pretty sure I'm getting like 10 or 11 mpg in the city :(

·
Registered
917 Posts
You are doing it wrong if you are getting an ounce over 8MPG. I love to bring mine down to 6MPG (it won't go below that). Rev it.

·
Registered
983 Posts

·
Registered
1,563 Posts
ok so I began driving in P400, EDC comfort, and D2 and I'm getting about 15.5 mpg on average. 100% city driving with a lot of stop and go.