BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I've not done too badly, 21500 miles and the rears need replacing. What is the current wisdom regarding tyres to go for on the E60 M5? Looking for something cost effective and long lasting as I am sure that tyres have moved on in the two years I've owned the beast! Cheers and beers :)

·
Registered
13,638 Posts
I switched from ContiSports to Michelin Pilot Sport 2's and the PS2's were much better. The car felt a lot more planted on the road compared with the jittery Contis.

EVO magazine seem to favour the Good Year F1's but I have no experience of these.

·
Registered
8,300 Posts
long lasting ?????? Nada...Ps'2 or stick with the original Cont's.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the suggestions guys, now I just have to find a cheap source, looking online they are coming up at about £360 each! Ouch!

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Looking for something cost effective and long lasting
If you want something long lasting, I think your only solution is to drive slower:7:...

I found the cost of the Contis and PS2's to be similar, in fact I'm sure the PS2's were cheaper last time I got them. Also watch out for places doing 25% discount if you buy 4 tyres etc.

Got my last set of PS2's from ATS which had 25% off, but that price was similar to what I could have got from North East Tyres & Exhausts with no discount and they are prepared to give disount, so shop around.

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Well I've not done too badly, 21500 miles and the rears need replacing.
I just noticed your first comment. You want something long lasting.

Is that 21500 miles on one set of rears :confused: HOW... and if it is, isn't that long enough... I'm guessing you live in a large city..

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Is that 21500 miles on one set of rears :confused: HOW...