BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am leaning towards the CNS big dia clutch; but on the other hand, after nursing a stock clutch for 53000 (will probably go 60+) I have learned to drive the beast easy on launches...A bit concerned that if i get a really capable clutch, i will be tempted to drive like an idiot more oftenouichouich...I like the CNS's dual mass lightened flywheel 267 mm clutch & FW: The really Gucci dual clutch appeals to my techno sense, but i never will have that much power, and its a bit pricey...But then on the other hand if i do get a hair up my ***** and go for F/I at some point...

·
Registered
434 Posts
CNS is the only way to go. Maybe the best upgrade I have on my car. This clutch can really take the extra power gains.

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
As a caveat, I have no experience with aftermarket hipo clutches on the M5. In general, however, I would say I consistently prefer stock clutches in daily drivers as I prefer the smooth engagement, long life, and lighter pedal stock clutches offer (the price point is typically better too).

·
Registered
12,965 Posts
The CNS has stock like engagement. The pedal has about 30% more effort, not a big deal. Mine took longer to break in then advertised, but again, not much of an issue.
'
If you are staying at stock hp levels, when you factor in cost, the stock clutch is very good. It is much cheaper (if you know where to look for the parts) and driven with a reasonable degree of sanity, should last.

The reason I went for the CNS was because of the power upgrade. I do not believe the stock parts can handle the extra power over the long term. I suspect I can get over 100k miles on the clutch, it is very robust and I nd not to pretend to be John Force on the highway!!

Regards,
Jerry

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Lost in the emails...sorry; You want the computer right? PM me info and i'll box it up tomorrow.

·