BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone else have major chatter issues with their SMG clutch? I've had the clutch assembly, including pressure plates and flywheel replaced 2 times, with the service mechanics and foreman saying that there was an issue. Now the District Rep has test driven the car, and says that is completely normal, and to allow up to 5,000 miles for break-in!!! Now, I'm not an expert on BMW clutches by any means, but I do race cars professionally, and know that it does NOT take 5,000 miles to break-in a clutch.

He also suggested that I don't "feather" the throttle...which I don't do...that's his only solution to the chatter.

·
Registered
8,300 Posts
I would think they are full of what makes the grass grow green !!!, a clutch should never chatter when new, something is out of wack, and it's not the clutch assembly........Been turning wrenches for 40 years, they are BULLSHI_TING YOU>

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would think they are full of what makes the grass grow green !!!, a clutch should never chatter when new, something is out of wack, and it's not the clutch assembly........Been turning wrenches for 40 years, they are BULLSHI_TING YOU>
Thanks for the reply...so what do you suggest that it is? I have to somehow try to make them replace something...

·
Registered
3,249 Posts
i'd say try a different dealer , dont tell them you've been somewhere else just make an app as a cust with a problem !!

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ok so I just went don't there and was told by the shop foreman that the District rep brought another M5 over 10,000 miles to the dealership, and it did the same exact thing...I didn't see the rep, or the other car...but I still don't think that this clutch chatter is normal. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
District rep brought another M5 over 10,000 miles to the dealership, and it did the same exact thing...