BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,054 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im changing my oil tomorrow and I just want to make sure I have all of the tools that I need. Are there any parts that you guys would recommend changing? Is it essential that I change the washers on the oil plug? Any tips or recommendations would be helpful to me.
Thanks Will

·
Registered
2,574 Posts
Theres probably some information in the FAQ about this. From my past days as a mechanic I can give the opinion that you do not have to change the washer unless it looks damaged or shows signs that the drain plug is leaking oil.
Another general tip that does not pertain to any particular vehicle is that you should make sure the engine is warmed up prior to changing the oil. You can't be afraid of hot oil or you should have someone else do it for you.

My 2 cents, good luck!

·
Registered
1,136 Posts
The copper crush washer on the plug should most definitely be changed. You get a new one in the BMW filter kit, along with a new o ring for the oil filter housing cap, so if you get a BMW filter kit you wont' have to worry about getting anything else besides the oil.

My other piece of advice is hand tighten the drain plug ONLY, do not use any kind of wrench!!!

·
Registered
506 Posts
The most unusual thing you'll need, assuming you want to torque your filter cover which is a good idea to prevent overtightening, is a 36(?)mm socket. I'm going by memory here, so if this is the wrong size hopefully someone will jump in.

·
Registered
2,574 Posts
As an M5 "newbie", but not a mechanical newbie, could you please explain the hand tighten? I think the point of a copper washer is to be crushed into a perfect seal. How can you achieve that by hand?

Reactions: Fourced4cyl

·
Registered
72 Posts