BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
10,445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did an 'inspection 2' this weekend, which involved changing the plugs. I have a question about 'reading' the old plugs, it's been a while since i've changed plugs.

The old plugs had 56,900 miles on them (i was on my last green light before insp2) and came out with a brownish color to the porcelin. More of a chocolate/mocha color than the lightish tan i've seen in past modern cars. I don't baby the car, and generally use only chevron premium (only 91 octane here in ca.) so i was surprised how dark they look. To those who have changed their own plugs, does this sound normal?

The comment: the car runs quite a bit smoother, and feels stronger with the new plugs. I certainly won't go another 60k before I change them, 30k sounds like a better interval.
Thanks,
Mike

·
Registered
2,289 Posts
Sounds like you got some of that lost spring back in the step...

Im not an expert on reading plugs and i havent seen the "normal" m5 plug yet, so ill step out of that portion of the post.

I think the 30K interval is a good one...

·
Registered
5,227 Posts
Mike,

I am assumming Inspection 2 always involves changing the plugs? I too am coming upon that inspection. What plugs did you use as replacements for the OEM plugs?

Good to hear that you have a renewed vigor in your car. I am a little surprised that the plugs needed changing at this level of mileage. I thought there were a number of plugs good for 100,000 miles.

Mark

·
10,445 Posts
Discussion Starter #4