BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I understand I need to get a laptop with INPA/ISTA but it seems like having something to read codes that is always around would be a good idea. I've read some mixed reviews of Carly but nothing recent on this board. Its $80 for the adapter/dongle and then $63.96 per year for the subscription so just wondering if this was the best bet or if there is any other better/preferred option.

Thanks!

·
Registered
316 Posts
I had it on my e70 X5 and for a complete newb it was very easy to use for coding, diagnostics and battery registration.

Since getting familiar with ISTA & INPA I had no use for it anymore.

I do want one now to carry in the car for emergencies but their yearly fees not worth it.

Look into Bimmerlink and Bimmercode instead.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
335 Posts
It really depends on what you want it for. If its mainly for reading codes and diagnostics you can use Bimmertool and it will give you the manufacturer codes. If its for diagnostics and coding you can also use Bimmergeeks Protool which basically allows you to perform the functions of NCSexpert and Tool32. They charge around the same amount as Carly but its a one time cost as opposed to a yearly subscription.

Bimmerlink and Bimmercode are very clean apps with same functions as Carly and cheaper. The only thing is they only work on LCI cars (2008 and on).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
713 Posts
Download an app called Torque on android and buy a ELM327 on ebay. For all the basics that will get the job done. Reading/clearing codes, logging data, etc. With that said I have Carly but was grandfathered in before their subscription service started and would not pay yearly for it.

Reactions: ticat928

·
Registered
36 Posts