Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Background...
I graduated with BS Biology and BA Psychology (i never intended to use the Psych but had enough credits to double major)...

Anyway, I have tons of research experience and can get tons of jobs in research and development, but initially intended to be Pre-med but changed my mind but don't want to stay in the research field.

I've been considering health administration, business in the life sciences, pharmaceutical sales, or sales and consulting - basically a move towards business/sales and away from the actual science stuff.

As a fresh graduate with little sales experience, it's difficult to get a good position with pharmaceutical sales or other lucrative field b/c they require experience and it is now so competitive.

Question...
A Financial Advisor position is available through American Express Financial Advisors and I was wondering if anyone else had heard of this? They seem to be a mass hire type firm and you can make good money on commissions but the short-term or salary is horrible. Some things about it seem shady though, and I would be interested in this job solely to make good money for a couple years and get sales experience to move onto a better higher paying job in a business field. You get your Series 7 and insurance/financial licenses, build a client base, basically sell financial services to customers, build up a practice that you can branch off on your own, and then you can sell your practice and clients for money. The quick sales pitch was that it was great sales experience for entrepreneurs, you could earn $50k+ in your first year, and after 3 years when you go independent the average income is $127k.