BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4,406 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,
I have a question for you experienced "do it yourselfer's"
I will have to raise the car up off from the ground and mount the car up on jack stands, because I sold my RD SPORT RSII rims, and the buyer will be taking possesion of them within a few weeks. Until my HRE rims come in from Calli and I have rubber mounted on these new rims, I'll have to keep the car on stands, inside my garage. I've never done this before (mounting a car on all fours, on jack stands) so Im looking for any advise on how this should be done. Do i raise the car up one corner at a time with a floor jack and then slip the jack stand under the car corner that's raised? I'd hate to do something incorrectly with this car, know what I mean?!?!
Thanks.
Robert

·
Registered
511 Posts
I think Dave Z would be the best to answer this as his method of jacking up the car for tranny mounts and ssk allows for placement of stands on the lift pads.

·
10,455 Posts
When i'm doing work that requires jack stands, I typically jack the car up just behind (front end, or ahead for the rear) of the jack pad with a floor jack, then put the jack stand under the jack pad.
Might check the discovery auto site, they have some pics of Rob's car on stands which may give you some ideas
Mike

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
Rob, do as Mike suggests... floor jack under the rear, place the jack stands beneath the car.. then do the same with the front. I would not try corner by corner at all, if you know what I mean

·
Registered
2,289 Posts
Robert...dont listen to andre...those crazy south africans are only trying to confuse us with there "other side of the equator talk" same goes for MIB and all those nutty aussies.

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
SC'dKellenersM5 said: