BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 133 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to replace my tires soon. I currently have the Michelin PS2s. Replacing all 4 tires, according to one shop, will cost $2100. Are these the best tires? How about the pirelli's? I don't race this car and would like to know other people's experience and costs. Thanks.

·
Registered
216 Posts
PS2's are by far the BEST street tire available today, for both dry and wet conditions. They do cost the part as well, although they do wear well and last.

·
Registered
68 Posts
I have been driving on Toyo Proxes for many years – currently Proxes T1R on my e60 M5. Not only are they great performing tires year-round with excellent handling and traction, they are very durable . . . . .<!-- / message -->

·
Registered
1,516 Posts
The stock ContiSportContact 2 tires aren't all that bad in overall performance, and they're a good chunk of change cheaper than the PS2. The PS2 is well recognized as a great tire, so you can't go wrong with it, you can just go cheaper. The general consensus on the Pirelli tires is STAY AWAY.

I just switched over my front tires to the Toyo T1R, and so far I have been happy but I need another week or so on them to really decide what I think. Once my rears wear down I'll be switching those over to the T1R as well to match (running ContiSportContact 3 on the rear...a puncture forced me to switch out the fronts early considering how little wear my front tires had after 13k miles).

·
Registered
831 Posts
Read a nice review on tires (I think it might have been in Evo) while browsing at a bookstore. The Goodyear F1 Asymmetric got great reviews. Wondered if anyone had any experience with them, or if they even come in the correct size for our cars...

·
Registered
3,263 Posts
If not the Michelin PS2's the only other tire I would purchase is the Nitto Invo. Much cheaper and equal in quality, grip and handling.