BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am still fairly new to this Alpina winning formula and wondered if anyone had an electronic or paper review or road test of one when new. AutoCar or anything similar? I am hoping it will tell me everything Alpina did to breathe their magic on to my 5 Series 3.3 Touring Number 11. Also nice to see in black and white tested 0-60 and max speed figures.

If someone has something to fax I would be very grateful for a copy.:blabla:

Thanks and hello

Brian

·
Banned
664 Posts
Hi Brian

Autocar originally roadtested the B10 3.3 in a group test (against the Jaguar XJR and Audi S6) in 19/1/2000 issue.

They then ran a B10 3.3 for a year on their fleet - and the last report on the car was published in the 17/1/2001 issue....

Some extracts of that :

Supreme engineering makes the B10 what it is: the best saloon in the world, despite some niggly faults.

A car with profound talent, turning the world's greatest all-round saloon into the world's greatest enthusiast's saloon. Something to be savoured.

What we like:
Everything the 5-Series lacked (and it wasn't much) has been added by Alpina. Amazing refinement and characterful engine compiment Munich's peerless steering and chassis.

What we don't like:
Savage depreciation because of price cuts, quality gliches, extra services.

Regards your question about Stats:

Here

I also had a B10 3.3 which I ran for 3 years before I got the M5. You can read about my thoughts on the car Here

My running costs are Here

Final things is I have 12 B10 3.3s and 10 B10 3.2s listed on the ALPINA register (www.theALPINAregister.com) so you should be able to get other owners opinions there ... and we'd love to add your car too...

cheers

Neil

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Neil