BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,567 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title states... are your modifications listed with your car insurance? :dunno: Last thing I want to happen is get hit or hit someone and have either insurance company tell me I should have had them listed.

·
Registered
310 Posts
I was under the impression that listing them would cause your insurance rate to rise, both for the added cost of the mods, but also simply because you are modifying the car, and therefore are in some higher-risk category.

I'm no lawyer, so I could easily be completely wrong, but I always thought that was the case.

·
Registered
88 Posts
I actual have collector car insurance for my car. I keep it garaged and only use it on nice weekends. I list what the value of my car is at and they take a look at pics of the car, where store, the mods and give you a yearly price.

·
Registered
1,567 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I actual have collector car insurance for my car. I keep it garaged and only use it on nice weekends. I list what the value of my car is at and they take a look at pics of the car, where store, the mods and give you a yearly price.
Probably what I should do... I only put about 5k miles on my car a year. :wroom:

·
Registered
4,597 Posts
Probably what I should do... I only put about 5k miles on my car a year. :wroom:
Same here. Reminds me to ask my insurance agent about it...as I am currently not listing any mods.

·
Registered
2,001 Posts
Doing collector car insurance, through Hagerty or similar; can and will save you a bunch of money on insurance. Like has been said, you and the insurer talk about the car and what's been done to it and then a value is mutually decided. From there it depends on how you store it and how much you want to use it.

·
Registered
866 Posts