BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Has anybody tried the 40 watt LED angel eyes for their car? I just ordered a set ($65 w/shipping) and thought I'd try them after my 20 watt quit working. They guarantee no fault codes and they "plug and play" I will keep everyone posted....

·
Registered
629 Posts
I've had 10w 20w 40w. They all worked great except for the 20w which burned on one side. I'm running 100w now and I couldn't be happier.

·
Registered
769 Posts
I've had 10w 20w 40w. They all worked great except for the 20w which burned on one side. I'm running 100w now and I couldn't be happier.
100 W LED angel eyes? Haha! Are you nuts?! :confused2

I'm actually a mechanical engineer and I don't have a master degree within electronics, but even I understand that this is marketing bull sh*t.
I don't even think the electrical system and wiring to the supply for the angel eyes could transmit that kind of electrical current. You would need a 10 or 11 AWG copper cable to supply this kind of current. If the 20 W LED's really are 20 W, that's why they burn out and 40 W or 100 W will burn out even quicker, if they really have the stated power level.

Edit: it wouldn't fit mechanically either, since a 100 W LED chip is approx 1½x2 inches in size, without driver and heat sink. 5 or even 10 W LED angel eyes, I can believe in, since they would be about the same brightnes as a 60 W light bulb for home appliances. Anything above that, I call their bluff!

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have a e60 LCI and my halogen angel eyes just went out. I'm thinking about these 20W bulbs:
20W 6000K White BMW H8 LED Angel Eyes Ring Marker Light Bulbs for 1 3 5 x Series | eBay

My concerns are:
1. Interference with the system (faults codes, RF interference etc)
2. Heating - I understand the heat dissipated by the LED heatsinks are enough to damage the headlights (esp during low beam mode when the xenons are on and the LED don't dim)