BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi M6 Forum Team,

I'm new to the BMW M6 Forum looking to make a BIG purchase next couple days on a 2008 BMW M6 Convertible with 50K miles and Im getting butterflies. . I'm so excited to hopefully own and drive an M6 and I'm also concerned all the war stories I've read where the M6 owners ended up paying 10k plus for repairs within first year. No, there's no crystal ball showing the future for the M6 or any used car and wanted to get some feedback on a 2008 M6 convertible with 50k miles what I should expect. It the 2008 a good year? Clean Carfax and looks great. I drive the car for the first time tomorrow and to be honest with you, I've never driven one of these cars and so excited. I'm also thinking of getting an extended warranty just to get peace of mind. Of course these warranties are 3 to 5k depending on length of coverage. Thoughts on extended warranties?

The M6 is a car I've always wanted to own and drive and I'm so close. Just need a little assurance and prayers I don't end up with a lemon.

Thanks in advance!

Soon To Be M6 Owner (Fingers Crossed)

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hi I bought a 2007 this year and love it. Mine has about the same mileage. I really wonder if spending the $5k on new rod bearings and a really solid tune up would be money better spent than on the warranty. The v10 is a bucket list thing. Let us know how the test ride goes.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I purchased my '08 convertible 6spd about a month ago. I've wanted one of these for years but was also a bit hesitant given the reputation. Below are the considerations which were based off of research and just my sense of things, along with some general thoughts for you. Don't take these to be the final word.