BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a deal in the works and I am asking for some advice if anyone is willing. I am in the process of getting my hands on a 2000 M5 for next to nothing. The caveat, it has been sitting garage kept from a family member for 10-12 years. It also got a little moisture in the interior and has mold on the leather seats (not a biggie, clean them and find the failed seal). I am a novice but have the right guys in my corner. A few have rebuilt a couple M3s and have a mechanic friend but I want to do this on my own. Any advice as far as a process to start with and troubleshoot what step by step. The lines are gorgeous, with it being the Blue color scheme and black and blue interior. Any information helps. Cheers!

·
Registered
3,862 Posts
Put fresh fuel in and drive it? What needs troubleshooting? You didn't mention how many miles/km are on it or if it runs and starts with a new, fully charged battery. What kind of climate was it stored in?

I'd be prepared to replace the fuel filter after a tank full is run through. Was it stored with a full tank of fuel? Might be considering a fuel pump if not.

If you're asking what I'd like to do, well, that's a lot of work that's probably not really required so I'd recommend driving it and wait for stuff to not work and then troubleshoot. I wouldn't take it on a road trip or to the track. Easy weekend drives of increasing radii until there's a few hundred miles racked up should let you know what's going to require attention.