m5board.com Advertisers are: Download GTBoard.com Supercar Shootout 1 + 2 in HD 1920x1080 360 Forged 503 Motoring (OR) Angel iBright ASR Engineering Bavarian Soundwerks Bimmer Performance Store BMS BMW service CA Automotive CNS RacingDinan Cars EisenmannNA ESS Tuning Eurosport Design Evosport GTboard.com < "Supercar Shooutout II: 40+ car in action incl. BMW M3 E92" Hartge (Member discount) HRE Wheels Kreissieg Medford Tools (OR) Meist GT modbargains.com Neez Powerchip Group Race Precision Revozport Supreme Power (CA) TireRack BMW M5 Upgrade Garage for wheels, tyres and suspension Tubi Style North America Turner Motorsport Umnitza UUC Motorwerks Zeckhausen Racing BLACK LIST OF NON-APPROPRIATE VENDORS Be an m5board.com Advertiser!

Go Back   The Unofficial BMW M5 Messageboard (m5board.com) > BMW M5, M5 Touring, M6 and Z8 Forums > ALPINABoard.com | BMW Alpina Discussion

ALPINABoard.com | BMW Alpina Discussion Dedicated to all Alpina models.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd October 2000, 23:42   #1 (permalink)
Rich In UK
Junior Member, warming up (<31 posts)
 
Join Date: Oct 2000

View my

Sales Feedback: (0)
Post Real or fake?

Hi,just wondering if a car that turned up at my work today was real or not? It was a UK registered E36 coupe in a dark metallic green, genuine Alpina 20 spoke alloys (wider at the rear)Alpina front spoiler and Alpina badge on the bootlid, but with no model number after. The interior had no plaque on the centre console and the clocks had no Alpina logo either. The other giveaway was the single exhaust tailpipe.
I asked the owner about it and he assured me it was genuine. He said it was based on a 325i, bored to 2.7 and with the speed limiter removed. He also said it had Bilstein suspension and mentioned something about a Porsche gearbox? Did Alpina produce such a model? I will be very interested to find out!

Thanks
Rich
Rich In UK is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post! Add this post to your Facebook Profile Add this post to MySpaceStumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!
Reply With Quote
Support m5board.com and GTboard.com: buy the DVD1 and preorder the Bluray on GTboard.com
Old 5th October 2000, 00:05   #2 (permalink)
Dirim
Member, P500 Sport, DSC off (>900)
 
Dirim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Europe

View my M3 CSL

Sales Feedback: (0)
Post

Rich,

There is a difference between a car modified by Alpina or Alpina after market components and a car manufactured by Alpina. In the latter case the car would have a Alpina chassis number and registered under this name and not the BMW name (Alpina is a registered car manufacturer in Germany). There are a number of clues for an Alpina manufactured car (True Alpina?) which are mostly listed at the Unoffical Alpina Homepage http://www.users.wineasy.se/aahl/default.htm You already mentioned the lack of some of these clues like the Production Number Plaque, non Alpina dashboard, etc. which almost certainly suggest that you should look no further to call it a Alpina modified BMW (or a BMW modified with Alpina parts).

P.S. The lack of proper external model identification doesn't mean very much and sometimes left out intentionally or identified wrongly to keep the opposition guessing....

Ufuk Dirim
Dirim is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post! Add this post to your Facebook Profile Add this post to MySpaceStumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2000, 21:52   #3 (permalink)
Erik
m5board.comoholic (>1000 posts)
 
Erik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Europe
Age: 42

View my ALPINA B12, Dark red

Sales Feedback: (0)
Hi

First of all, all ( almost ) APLINA cars has big twin exhoust. Second they have red instruments and the ALPINA silver label inside with the production number.

An other thing is that on the E 36 they had first and 2,8 liter engine called B6 2.8 and then the B3 3.0 , B3 3.2 and now they have the B3 3.3 with 280 HP. So you where told that the engine was an 2.7 its not correct.
Erik is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post! Add this post to your Facebook Profile Add this post to MySpaceStumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between a replica and real M5 rim? SnoopMonkeyMonk E39 M5 and E52 Z8 Discussion 5 22nd May 2003 04:07
Question: Sport Evo - real or fake? BlueBiturbo GTBoard.com: General Sportscars 1 4th March 2003 04:19
fake or real.... fatty ALPINABoard.com | BMW Alpina Discussion 18 27th February 2003 18:40
A fake ///M5 spotting? Kevmmm E39 M5 and E52 Z8 Discussion 9 25th June 2002 17:43
What is the real 0-60? elof E39 M5 and E52 Z8 Discussion 1 24th May 2002 01:37









All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:11.


Everything Copyright 2000-2008. Do not use ANYTHING from this site without written permission. All images, graphics, sound files, video files and text appearing on this web site are the exclusive property of m5board.com and are protected under international copyright laws. All images, graphics, sound files, video files and text on this site are for on-screen and on-site viewing and listening only. No part of this web site may be reproduced, copied, saved, stored, manipulated, or used in any form for personal or commercial purposes without the prior written permission of m5board.com. Use of any image or graphic as the basis for another photographic concept or illustration is a violation of the copyright. Any copyright infringement will be prosecuted to the full extent of federal and international copyright laws. M5board.com is an enthusiast board and we don't condone any dangerous activity. Our airfield events are completely safe based on years of experience, we conduct them during clear visibility with mature participants that have several years of experience with high-performance automobiles, large unobstructed run-off zones on sealed off private former military airbases and we clearly mark the braking zones. If inexperienced with high speed driving we do not recommend organizing your own event but attending a high-performance driving school. The use of the term "BMW" on this site is for reference only, and does not imply any connection between m5board.com and BMW AG or BMW North America.